Valerie Montgomery Rice, MD

Morehouse School of Medicine

Dr. Montgomery Rice is the sixth president of Morehouse School of Medicine and the first woman to lead the free-standing medical institution. A renowned infertility specialist and researcher, she is the founder and former director of the Center for Women’s Health Research at Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tennessee, one of the nation’s first research centers devoted to studying diseases that disproportionately impact women of color.  Her dedication to leading the creation and advancement of health equity is manifested in every aspect of her work and has led to membership in numerous organizations and boards, such as membership in the National Academies of Science and the Horatio Alger Association. She serves on the board of directors for UnitedHealth Group, the Nemours Foundation, 23&Me, Wellpath, Josiah Macy Foundation, CARE, and the Westside Future Fund. Throughout her career she has received numerous awards such as the Dean Griffin Community Service Award from the Georgia Institute of Technology, Girls Inc. 2019 Smart Award, The National Medical Association OB/GYN 2019 Legend of the Section Award, The Turknett Leadership Character Award (2018), Visions of Excellence Award, Atlanta Business League (2018), Links Incorporated Co-Founders Award (2018), Trumpet Vanguard Award (2015), The Dorothy I. Height Crystal Stair Award (2014), National Coalition of 100 Black Women - Women of Impact (2014), YWCA – Women of Achievement of Atlanta-(2014) and Nashville (2007), and the American Medical Women’s Association Elizabeth Blackwell Medal (2011) to name a few.  Dr. Montgomery Rice holds a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from the Georgia Institute of Technology and a medical degree from Harvard Medical School. She completed her residency in obstetrics and gynecology at Emory University School of Medicine and her fellowship in reproductive endocrinology and infertility at Hutzel Hospital in Detroit, Michigan. She holds an honorary degree from both the University of Massachusetts Medical School and Rush University.

Back To Board Of Directors